Canadian Free Trade Agreement

The Canadian Free Trade Agreement  (CFTA) is an intergovernmental trade agreement signed by Canadian First Ministers that entered into force on July 1, 2017.

Alberta's Labour mobility obligations under the CFTA will remain the same as they were under the Agreement of Internal Trade (AIT).

Its purpose is to reduce and eliminate, to the extent possible, barriers to the free movement of persons, goods, services and investment within Canada and to establish an open, efficient and stable domestic market.

This applies to the movement of health professions within Canadian jurisdictions.

For additional information regarding CFTA, please click this link.

New West Partnership Trade Agreement

The New West Partnership Trade Agreement (NWPTA) is a ground-breaking economic partnership between the governments of British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Building upon the TILMA, the NWPTA creates Canada’s largest interprovincial free trade zone.

The Agreement has a number of benefits for the three provinces, which include:

  • Reduced costs for businesses, governments, and consumers.
  • Streamlined regulations through mutually recognizing or otherwise reconciling unnecessary differences in standards and regulations.
  • An enforceable dispute mechanism to ensure that each province lives up to its commitments.
  • Enhanced competitiveness through the free flow of goods, services, investment, and workers.

The agreement came into effect on July 1, 2010 and has been fully implemented since July 1, 2013.

To find out more information, visit NWPTA.